Minister/Officiant

What are the odds…

hold that thought….

I’m about sit down at a table after picking up my drink from the downtown Starbucks today in order to write the following blog (after this paragraph).  As I do, this young lady and what appears to be her mother both say to me, “Rev. Schulte?”  Yes, I respond.  The young lady says, “you are going to be marrying my fiance and I next month.” I have this blank (more than normal) look on my face, because I don’t recognize her.  She continues, “we’ve never met.  We were just at the Avia Hotel and Lisa Martello speaks so highly of you and we are so looking forward to you marrying us next month.  I can’t believe we ran into you here at Starbucks after just talking about you.  I’d only seen your photo from your website.”  “Yes,” I respond, “your ceremony is at 6:30pm ISH.” And we all laugh about the “ish”part.

So, what are the odds…  …that seven years after I married a couple who eloped to Savannah, that I would meet them again in Starbucks, downtown Savannah, between two elopements and while they just stopped in Savannah for a few hours on their way to Charleston? It was a 4 minute window of opportunity.

(Yes, I’m writing this from the same Starbucks, after two elopements today and before a wedding on HHI).

Yesterday, I had just ordered my drink and was waiting to pick it up when a young lady standing in line said, “You married me 7 years ago.”  My quick witted response: I hope you married your husband instead!

Sure enough, it was the bride from 7 years ago. They drove up from Clearwater, FL. that day and eloped at the fountain in Forsyth Park.

As we were inside Starbucks I asked where her husband was, as we stood in line.  He was driving around the block, she said, after dropping her off to get the two of them two drinks and get drinks for their two children, ages 4 and 2.  And, she added, “we were just talking about you earlier today.”

After the drinks arrived, I walked with her outside as she waited on her husband.  He arrived about 20 seconds later, stopped at the corner and then when his wife said, “honey, this is Rev. Schulte who married us 7 years ago.”  He reached across the seat and shook my hand through the open window.  Then they introduced me to their two children in the back seat.

It was great to see the two of them again!!  Their two girls were adorable!  Picture this: two children in booster seats in the back seat of a white 7 series BMW. There was so much travel stuff in the back seat, that it was piled so high the girls had built in foot rests!

This is the only thing that troubled me.  “Honey, this is Rev. Schulte, who married us 7 years ago.”  I know I’ve gotten older, gained a little (a lot) of weight over the years, gotten more white hair, and now need to use Rogain.  Problem: She and her husband had talked about me earlier in the day, yet she had to tell her husband who I was!!

This is where I was going to end the blog. Yet, I continue: I cannot make this up!

But, as I was just finishing up the previous paragraph, I hear over my shoulder, “Rev. Schulte.”  I turn and it is a couple I married 2 years ago.  They live on HHI.   He said, “do you remember me and my wife, Jackie?  you married us on July 12th, 2008.”  Of course I remember you two, was my response.  I notice she is with child and ask when the due date is: August.  How long are you here in Savannah?  Jackie responded, just for the day.”  We chatted for a few more minutes.

Sand Ceremony containers at the Palmetto Bluff Chapel

They are great people!  I married them at the Chapel in Palmetto Bluff!

Either I need to buy a lottery ticket today or I need to be in a Starbucks commercial !

Share your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

