Weddings

Say yes to your dress length!

Ok, so what do I know about wedding dresses?  Not much! I can tell you if I like a dress, but can’t describe a dress to well!

I don’t know if it is tool or toulle, or tulle, but because of spell checker I know it’s not the second one!  I don’t know if it is a bird cage for the hair or for your bird, or even the movie!  And I don’t know if it is a veil, vail, or blusher, or something else!

But I do know if the dress is the right length when the bride walks down the aisle!  How does one make it the right length? Clueless.  But I know it needs to be shortened!  Never have I seen a dress to short!

This is pure theory, but my theory about why the dress becomes/is too long is because most wedding dress selling places have brides stand in place on that platform and rarely do they have them walk around in it (see any TV show about brides!).

How is this resolved?  Not sure.  But my thoughts are: walk around in the dress (with correct shoes) while on the sales floor.

Now there are two factors which a bride needs to take into consideration when you “say yes to your dress length” in my opinion!  First, type of floor you’ll be walking in, carpet or solid floor.  Second is the lawn/grass/sand for beach.  The second one is first!  When bride walks in the grass down the aisle, the dresses are almost always to long. Why ? My guess is because they didn’t walk in grass when getting it measured.  I’ve seen plenty of brides step on the dress while walking in grass and on the sand.  The grass and sand makes the dress longer because the grass blades stick up around the shoe – therefore making the dress to long. The soil and sand makes the brides heals sink into the ground, once again making the bride shorter and the dress to long.

Now the first one second.  Not too often is the dress to long on solid floors, such as hardwood or concrete.  But carpet will make the dress to long, because of the padding under the carpet gives way under the shoe.

Here is a strange online illustration of grass.

|||||||||||||___||||||||||___|||||||___|||||||___|||||

The grass blades, sand, carpet all make the dress too long when walking on it.

One of the problems with a bride walking “down the aisle” is that she has flowers and is, in some cases, holding the arm of a parent or sibling or friend as she walks.  One hand for the flowers and the other for the arm of the person walking her in.  She doesn’t have yet another hand to hold up the front of the dress while walking.

Enough of my theory and guesses!

Any thoughts or tips for brides?

Happy New Year!

4 thoughts on “Say yes to your dress length!

  1. The dress fittings should never happen without the shoes a bride will wear on her wedding day. This is the most common mistake and one I myself made. Don’t think that just because the heel height is labeled the same, the shoes will affect the dress the same. Purchase your shoes before the fittings begin. Another biggie is a bride’s undergarments. You wouldn’t think it would make a big difference but even satin vs. lace can change the way the dress hangs on her body and the thickness is different. Brides have to take their undergarments with them to fittings too!

  2. stacy had great points, and it’s tulle, by the way. 🙂

    the time of day, season and venue are all also things to consider when choosing a length of dress. longer dresses are more formal and formal usually happens later in the day. tea-length dresses are usually reserved for spring and daytime and outdoor ceremonies!

    as for shoes, at my wedding, which was an outdoor occasion, me and my bridesmaids chose shoes that didn’t have pointy heels because we knew we would sink into the ground. not cool.

Leave a Reply

