Vendors · Weddings

Should you read reviews of vendors?

Yes.  And there are site which allow brides and grooms to review their wedding vendors.  And I encourage you to go to them.

There are vendors who have a large number of reviews and there are vendors with very few. And each one is rated by the bride and/or groom.  For example, the most known site, Wedding Wire.  A vendor is rated with stars, from 0-5, with 5 being the best.  You can find my latest reviews on Wedding Wire at this link. Another site is Wedding Mapper, it is not as well known and I only have two reviews on there..

Why is it important to read reviews?  When you go buy a new car, I would hope you’d check out the reviews of the car.  For example, I recently purchased a pre-owned car (or is it pre-loved car?).  I went online to Kelly Blue Books and read up on the value of the car.  I also went to Consumer Reports, online, and read some reviews.  And I went and checked out Technical Service Bulletins (if a particular make of car has too many TSB’s, that will lead to a recall.)  I knew what problems may occur when I purchased the car.

Our two new rescue dogs (Dec. 22, 2010), they were two days away from being euthanized. They are great dogs!

I don’t know of other wedding vendor review sites, so if you do, please let me know and I’ll post them here.

There are draw backs to sites like Wedding Wire.  Some vendors may strongly encourage brides and grooms to fill out a review. For example, on Trip Advisor (not a wedding site), I know of one bed and breakfast who has been in business for about 3 years, yet has over 400 reviews.  Hmmm…  And I know of a bed and breakfast in business for 7+ years and only has 65 reviews.

Also, if you look closely at review sites (even best buy has this option) you can sort the reviews from lowest to highest. Often times the most recent review is first.

On one of my reviews you’ll read where I arrived by pedi-cab to a wedding.  Yup, I sure did!  The bride and groom wanted their wedding at the same time I was already booked, 4pm.  So, they were willing to move their start time to 4:30pm, since their wedding was only two squares away, because they wanted me as their officiant. I was going to walk, but decided it was too hot that day to walk and not get sweaty.  The answer was Pedicab!  I flagged down a pedicab prior to the 4pm wedding, paid him to wait for me and then had him take me to the 4:30pm wedding.  I arrived 7 minutes early!!

And lastly, if there is a lastly, google a person or business.  For example, I found out about a wedding officiant who will not only be the minister at  your wedding, but will clean your house, walk your dog, grocery shop and wash your car for you.

Share your thoughts!

Update Note: on 1.25.11 Wedding Wire announced that I received: the Bride’s Choice Awards 2011 from WeddingWire! This means we are in the top 5 percent of Wedding Pros nationwide. http://www.weddingwire.com/vendor-reviews

Weddings, Wedding Venues
2011 Bride's Choice Awards | Best Wedding Photographers, Wedding Dresses, Wedding Cakes, Wedding Florists, Wedding Planners & More
Leave a Reply

