Bible · Weddings

Is the wedding ceremony actually from the Bible?

Short answer: No.

Long answer: No. If you’ve seen an officiant read from the bible for the ceremony, they actually used pieces of paper inserted inside the bible – and I’ve seen other officiants do that.   Yes, there are scripture passages often used in the ceremony, such as from 1st Corinthians, “Love is patient, love is kinds….”  But there is no wedding ceremony in the bible.

I once had an internet ordained officiant call me, desperate for me to help her with this question: “I just arrived for this elopement, and my couple wants me to use the ceremony that is in the bible, and I can’t find one. please help me!”

The Bible has a lot in it, but one thing it doesn’t have is a wedding ceremony.

Share your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

