Weddings

There are times when I never see a face during a wedding. Why?

Cameras. Phones.

That’s why I don’t always see peoples faces during a wedding. I’m not sure how it looks and feels to the couples, especially the bride as she’s walking down the aisle – but I bet it’s strange. Imagine only seeing chins, ears and hair. They may get to see you, but you don’t get the joy of seeing them.

And it’s become difficult for your professional photographer to get good shots of couples during the ceremony (processional and recessional as well). Not because the couple isn’t happy, but because there’s pink camera phones, plaid camera phones, etc. Those colors really stand out in photos, probably more so than the bride and groom.

I took a photo a two people taking photos with their iPads as we were getting ready for the bride to entire the church. I’ve attached a picture of myself to demonstrate what the bride (and others) saw of those guests that I just now took with my iPhone.

who’s that person??

Now I’ve attached a picture of me that I just took with my iPad with my iPhone.

Both of these are I’ve taken as I am about to go running (I’m running in the Rock ‘N Roll 1/2 marathon tomorrow (11.3.12) here in Savannah.

Consider letting your guests know that even though they may get a nice picture of you, that the professional photographer you’ve hired and paid lots of money for, won’t get fantastic pictures of you.

Recently I’ve heard two stories (I’ve heard many more over the last couple years) that I want to share:

There’s an incredible shot of the bride and her dad walking down the aisle. They are framed by the church doors silhouetted by the sunset in the background. But there is one guest with a pink camera phone that wants to get the perfect picture of the bride as she enters. So in every fantastic shot of that the hired professional photographer ($3k+) there’s a pink camera phone (with no face behind it because it covers up the face).

And another story. I’ve seen family members who hold up their wind up camera to get a picture a picture of their loved one. but the loved one never gets to see the face of the family member.

Ok I said two stories but recall, during writing this of a third one. I heard tell of a bride complaining to the professional photographer that the photographer was in EVERY picture that her guests took of the wedding day ( and this photographer did not stand up by the couple during the ceremony – like one of my previous blogs describes). she loved the photos the photographer took but thought she should have let some of her guests take pictures of them with the photographer out of the way. Oh, and did I mention that at this wedding there was one guests who stood behind the photographer nearly the entire time taking the same shot as the photographer. And was bold enough to say to the photographer, “I’m getting every shot you do, but they won’t have to pay your fee to have them printed.” Yet, the photographer was in every photo. My thought: “What’s wrong with this picture?”

And to top it all off: add the sounds that cameras and camera phones make. It can be really embarrassing and distracting from the perfect wedding the couple has tried to make happen.

I don’t know if I have a solution to this, but I thought I’d bring up the “elephant in the room.”

To give an example of how taking a picture may seem like a good idea but in fact can not be one, here’s a picture I took of a bride with actor James Gandolfini, as he was walking through the square here in Savannah. I got the shot but it’s horribly out of focus.

BTW, I wasn’t in the way of the photographer!

Share your thoughts.

2 thoughts on “There are times when I never see a face during a wedding. Why?

  1. It’s really sad, but it actually ruins some of the ceremony pictures. People are so focused on getting their picture so they can post first on facebook, that they just aren’t present emotionally for the ceremony. Before the emphasis of the congregation changed, some of the most powerful images were emotional reactions of parents, family, and guests. The distraction of getting the best shot as a guest, or the person/people next to you doing the same thing has made it impossible to be emotionally involved. Parents are now doing the same thing, and I really think they just haven’t considered the alternative of leaving their phones in the car and being emotionally available and present without distraction for that 15-30 minute ceremony.

Leave a Reply

